Skip to main content

Hummingbird Speedway

Exciting Saturday Night Dirt Track Racing Action!

Home  Schedule  Rules  News & Results  Point Standings  Photos  Links  2011 Archive  2012 Archive  2013 Archive  2014 Archive  2015 Archive  2016 Archive  Gone But Not Forgotten   
2016 Schedule
Street Stock Special
Late Model Special
2016 Photos
By: Todd Orsich, Speedway Writer

Reynoldsville (July 9)—As the second half of the season rolls on at Hummingbird Speedway, three drivers found their way to victory lane for the first time this season. Winners on Saturday evening included Curtis Teats of Morrisdale, Bruce Hartzfeld and Josh Fields of Brockport Mike Lucas of Philipsburg, and Skip Lindemuth of Hazen.
Shawn Lindemuth and Hartzfeld started on the front row of the 20-lap street stock main. Hartzfeld grabbed the early lead and was working lapped traffic by lap 6. Hartzfeld continued to lead at the midway mark with Bob McMillen, Lindemuth, Bob Connor, and Matt Krause trying to close the gap. Hartzfeld saw his sizable lead go by the way side as the races only caution flew on lap 19 for a spin by Nate Brady. The green-white-checkered finish saw Hartzfeld, who is the defending point’s king; hold off a hard charging McMillen for the win. Hartzfeld and Fuzzy Fields won the heats.
The Swanson Heavy Duty Truck Repair semi-lates were next on the racing surface with Teats and Kevin Dickson showing the way in the 20-lap feature. Teats got the early jump on the field with Dickson and Rick Lias battling for second. After a lap 7 caution period, Dickson had to pit with a heavily smoking car giving second to Lias. Teats maintained the lead halfway through with Lias, Jason Beichner, Adam Nixon, and Neil Wilson, Jr. trying to keep things close. Teats pulled away from the field after a lap 12 restart, but saw his lead evaporate after a lap 19 caution period. The green-white-checkered finish was a good one as Lias kept glued to the rear deck lid of Teats. Lias tried a bump and run move on Teats in turn three of the final lap. But Teats was up to the challenge as he went on to claim his first career win at the speedway. Teats and Nixon copped the heat race wins.
The Sunny 106.5 FM pure stocks were next on the racing surface for their 15-lap feature with Dustin Challingsworth and Fields showing the way to the green flag. Fields grabbed the early lead with Challingsworth in close tow. After two caution periods for minor spins, Fields held the lead halfway in the feature with Dustin Challingsworth, Jim Challingsworth, Doug Surra, and Matt Howell rounding out the top five. Fields worked the high side of the track as Dustin Challingsworth continued to challenge him on the inside. The pair battled side by side for a number of laps before Fields was able to clear Challingsworth, and hold on to the top spot. Fields win wasn’t easy as he held off the late race challenges of Challingsworth and Doug Surra for his second win of the season. Fields and Challingsworth won the heats.
Jamie Barber and Lindemuth led the field of BWP Bats steel block late model trackside for their 25-lap feature event.  As the field took the green flag it was a three wide dash into turn one. Lindemuth came out on top after the first circuit with Eddie Connor close behind. Two minor cautions slowed the pace on lap 8 & 9 with Connor keeping the pressure on Lindemuth on the restarts. Lindemuth was able to get away from Connor as Paul Kot closed on Connor and the pair waged quite a battle for second place. Kot was able to get by Connor late in the race and had a shot at Lindemuth after a lap 22 caution period. Kot tried to make the pass for the lead on the inside of Lindemuth on the white flag lap, but Lindemuth wouldn’t be denied as he claimed his second win of the year and first since opening night. Eric Moore and Kot won the heats.
The Aaron’s of DuBois front wheel drive four-cylinders closed the evenings show with Austin Hockenberry and Jim Fye drawing the top spots in the 12-lap main.  As the green flag dropped the field scattered and were running two and three wide out of turn four with Fye holding the lead. Fye found the high line to his liking with Lucas trying to get by on the low side. Lapped traffic came into play late as Lucas used a lapped car as a pick to take over the lead. Lucas continued to lead after the races final caution and went on to score his first win of the season. Lucas and Randy Albert to the heat race wins.
Speedway Notes:  Racing was completed by 10:45 pm. Trophies were in memory of Jack Salada. Racing continues Saturday evening with a five-division program. It will also be kid’s banner night with trophies being sponsored by PA Racing Outreach. There will also be a hard charger award given out in each of the five classes. Gates open at 4:30pm with racing at 7. For more information visit the track’s website at or call the track office at 653-8400.
BWP Bats Steel Block Late Models: 1. Skip Lindemuth, Hazen; 2. Paul Kot, Brockway; 2. Eddie Connor, DuBois; 4. Jamie Barber, Grampian; 5. Chad Rougeux, Frenchville; 6. Steve Arthurs, Falls Creek; 7. Kenny Schaffer, DuBois; 8. Dylan Fenton, Clearfield; 9. Scott Alvetro, Reynoldsville; 10. Don Henry, Falls Creek; 11. Eric Moore, Frenchville; 12. B.J. Hudson, Clearfield. DNS: Chris Farrell, Tom Merryman, Joe Kot.
Swanson Heavy Duty Truck Repair Semi Lates: 1. Curtis Teats, Morrisdale; 2. Rick Lias, Dayton; 3. Jason Beichner, Shippenville; 4. Adam Nixon, Grampian; 5. Deegan Watt, DuBois; 6. Josh Henry, Clearfield; 7. Scott Zimmerman, Brookville; 8. Melissa Fannin, Clearfield; 9. Roswell Babcock, Curwensville; 10. Neil Wilson, Jr., Clearfield; 11. Kevin Dickson, West Decatur.
Street Stocks: 1. Bruce Hartzfeld, Brockport; 2. Bob McMillen, St. Marys; 3. Bob Connor, DuBois; 4. Matt Krause, Brisbin; 5. George Bailey, Clearfield; 6. Nate Brady, Clearfield; 7. Pernell Beimel, St. Marys; 8. Jim Bloom, Curwensville; 9. Josh Frantz, DuBois. DQ: Shawn Lindemuth. DNS: Fuzzy Fields.
Sunny 106.5 FM Pure Stocks: 1. Josh Fields, Brockport; 2. Dustin Challingsworth, St. Marys; 3. Doug Surra, Kersey; 4. Jim Challingsworth, St. Marys; 5. Matt Howell, Clearfield; 6. Mike Miller, Rockton; 7. Eric Lucas, Clearfield; 8. Tim Steis, St. Marys; 9. Dustin Gray, Weedville; 10. Jeff Kronenwetter, St. Marys; 11. Ben Krause, Houtzdale; 12. Dusty Hippler, DuBois; 13. Andrew Frey, St. Marys; 14. Dylan Frantz, Luthersburg.
Aaron’s of DuBois Front Wheel Drive Four-Cylinders: 1.Mike Lucas, Philipsburg; 2. Randy Albert, Morrisdale; 3. Jerry Walls, DuBois; 4. Tom Peters, Clearfield; 5. Eric Luzier, Clearfield; 6. Zack Frantz, DuBois; 7. Brian Snyder, Clearfield, Clearfield; 8. Brandion Frantz, DuBois;  9. Jim Fye, Reynoldsville; 10. Jim Boyer, Penfield; 11. Austin Hockenberry, Morrisdale. DQ: Anthony Campisano.