Skip to main content

Hummingbird Speedway

Exciting Saturday Night Dirt Track Racing Action!

Home  Schedule  Rules  News & Results  Point Standings  Photos  Links  2011 Archive  2012 Archive  2013 Archive  2014 Archive  2015 Archive  2016 Archive  Gone But Not Forgotten   
2016 Schedule
Street Stock Special
Late Model Special
2016 Photos
By: Todd Orsich, Speedway Writer

Reynoldsville (July 2)—Adam Nixon of Grampian, and Randy Albert of Morrisdale stayed as hot as the Independence Day holiday as each raced to their third straight victories Saturday evening at Hummingbird Speedway. Other drivers adding to their win totals included Paul Kot of Brockway, Bob Connor of DuBois, and Doug Surra of Kersey.
The Swanson Heavy Duty Truck Repair semi-lates led off the evenings feature program with Josh Henry and Nick Loffredo starting on the front row of the 20-lap feature. Loffredo jumped into the early lead with Nixon working his way quickly to second. Nixon would challenge Loffredo for the lead a number of times but would fall back. Nixon worked his way back to the rear deck lid of Loffredo and made the pass for the lead on lap 14. Two caution flags flew on lap 15 with Loffredo having to pit with engine issues. Henry got by Nixon on the restart and held the lead until lap 18 when Nixon once again powered by on the low side for lead and his third straight win. With the win, Nixon wrestled the points lead away from Neil Wilson, Jr. Loffredo won the lone heat.
Mike Miller and Jim Challingsworth led the Sunny 106.5 FM pure stocks on to the speedway for their 15-lap feature. Miller grabbed the early lead and held it through two early caution periods with a number of drivers running three wide behind him. Surra worked the low line a number of times on Miller and was finally able to make the pass for the lead on lap 7. Surra continued to add to his lead as Dustin Challingsworth and Josh Fields battled side by side for second place. Surra cruised on to his second straight win and third overall this season while Fields got by Challingsworth late for second. Fields and Matt Howell won the heats.
The BWP Bats steel block late model feature was next on the speedway with Dan Smeal and Skip Lindemuth making up the starting front row of the 25-lap main event. After a complete restart, Smeal held the early lead with Kot looking under him for second. Smeal and Kot pulled away from the field with Lindemuth, Eric Moore, and Jamie Barber trying to close the gap.  Kot was able to get by Smeal on lap 5 and continued his torrid pace through the midway mark with Smeal, Moore, Barber and Bruce Raybuck rounding out the top five. Kot saw a 6 ½ second lead go by the way side late as Don Henry and Smeal collided in turn two. The caution didn’t deter Kot as he was able to pull away from the field for his second win of the year. Kot and Chris Farrell won the heats.
The 20-lap street stock main was next on the racing surface with Connor and Bob McMillen showing the way. After two early caution periods Connor took the lead with McMillen working the high line. Connor and McMillen dazzled the crowd as they swapped the lead seven times in the first ten laps with Connor still holding the lead at the midway mark. McMillen wrestled the lead back on lap 11 and held it for two more laps before Connor would take it over for good on lap 14. Connor was able to stretch the lead out late as McMillen had to hold Bruce Hartzfeld and Brian Rhed at bay for second. In the end it was Connor picking up his second straight win and third overall. Connor and Fuzzy Fields won the heats.
Tom Peters and Mike Lucas led the Aaron’s of DuBois front wheel drive four-cylinders on to the track for their 12-lap main. Lucas took the early lead and held it through two early caution periods with Jim Fye and Anthony Campisano keeping close tabs on the leader. Fye took over the lead on lap 5 and held it through the halfway mark with Albert, Lucas, Campisano, and Peters completing the top five. Albert used the high line to his advantage and took over the lead on lap 7. Albert pulled away quickly and garnered his third straight feature win.  Albert and Campisano won the heats.  After the feature five drivers were disqualified after failing a post-race inspection.
Speedway Notes:  Racing was completed by 10:30 pm. The 11th annual Mick Orsich memorial race has been scheduled for September 10 with a rain date set for September 17. Racing continues Saturday evening with a five-division program. Gates open at 4:30pm and racing at 7. For more information visit the track’s website at or call the track office at 653-8400.
BWP Bats Steel Block Late Models: 1. Paul Kot, Brockway; 2. Eric Moore, Frenchville; 3. Jamie Barber, Grampian; 4. Bruce Raybuck, Falls Creek; 5. Chad Rougeux, Frenchville; 6. Skip Lindemuth, Hazen; 7. Joe Kot, DuBois; 8. Dan Stormer, Corsica;  9. Brian Molnar, Falls Creek; 10. Don Henry, Falls Creek; 11. BJ Hudson, Clearfield; 12. Dan Smeal, Houtzdale; 13. Dylan Fenton, Clearfield; 14. Tim Krape, Bellefonte; 15. Kenny Schaffer, DuBois; 16. Chris Farrell, Clearfield
Swanson Heavy Duty Truck Repair Semi Lates: 1. Adam Nixon, Grampian; 2. Josh Henry, Clearfield; 3. Deegan Watt, DuBois; 4. Neil Wilson, Jr., Clearfield; 5. Roswell Babcock, Curwensville; 6. Melissa Fannin, Clearfield; 7. Nick Loffredo, Avis.  DQ: Chad Desmett
Street Stocks: 1. Bob Connor, DuBois; 2. Bob McMillen, St. Marys; 3. Bruce Hartzfeld, Brockport; 4. Brian Rhed, Brockport; 5. Fuzzy Fields, Brockway; 6. Josh Frantz, DuBois; 7. Matt Krause, Brisbin; 8. Skip Lindemuth, Hazen; 9. Jake Cunliffe, Knox; 10. David McGovern, Jr., Hyde; 11. Luke Barnett, Mahaffey; 12. Alan Lamb, Reynoldsville; 12. Doug Surra, Kersey; 13. George Bailey, Clearfield; 14. Nate Brady, Clearfield; 15. Jamie Colwell, Knox
Sunny 106.5 FM Pure Stocks: 1. Doug Surra, Kersey; 2. Josh Fields, Brockport; 3. Dustin Challingsworth, St. Marys; 4. Mike Miller, Rockton; 5. Jim Challingsworth, St. Marys; 6. Matt Howell, Clearfield; 7. Ben Krause; Houtzdale; 8. Eric Lucas, Clearfield; 9. Mike Annis, St. Marys; 10. Zach Gustafson, Weedville; 11. Tim Steis, St. Marys
Aaron’s of DuBois Front Wheel Drive Four-Cylinders: 1. Randy Albert, Morrisdale; 2. Mike Lucas, Philipsburg; 3. Steven Hill, Brookville; 4. Bud Witherow, Luthersburg; 5. Brandion Frantz, DuBois; 6. Brian Snyder, Clearfield, Clearfield; DNS: Adam Bales. DQ:  Austin Hockenberry, Jim Boyer, Anthony Campisano, Jim Fye, & Tom Peters.