Skip to main content

Hummingbird Speedway

Exciting Saturday Night Dirt Track Racing Action!

Home  Schedule  Rules  News & Results  Point Standings  Photos  Links  2011 Archive  2012 Archive  2013 Archive  2014 Archive  2015 Archive  2016 Archive  Gone But Not Forgotten   
2016 Schedule
Street Stock Special
Late Model Special
2016 Photos




Reynoldsville (June 25)—The 2016 racing season at Hummingbird Speedway reached its halfway point Saturday evening with drivers competing for double points on mid- season championship night sponsored by Pennsylvania Grain Processing of Clearfield. Drivers picking up key wins included Chris Farrell of Clearfield, Adam Nixon of Grampian, Fuzzy Fields of Brockway, Doug Surra of Kersey, and Randy Albert of Morrisdale.


The Sunny 106.5 FM pure stocks opened the evenings feature program with Matt Howell and Surra leading the way in their 15-lap main. Surra grabbed the initial lead with Howell, Mike Miller, and Josh Fields battling close for second.  Surra continued to lead through the midway point with Miller, Fields, Dustin Challingsworth, and Howell rounding out the top five. Surra continued to set a torrid pace, and was able to hold off Fields for the win in the caution free race run in less than five minutes. The win was Surra’s second of the year. Fields and Miller won the heats while Challingsworth continues to hold the points lead.


By virtue of winning their heat races Farrell and Skip Lindemuth sat on the front row of the 25-lap BWP Bats steel block late model feature. After a complete restart, Lindemuth took the early lead, and held it through a number of early caution periods.  A red flag flew on lap 6 when Jeff Taylor’s car went head on into the turn one fence. Taylor was uninjured, but his car received heavy damage. After the extended break Lindemuth continued to lead with Farrell and Dan Smeal battling side by side for second.  As the race wore on, Farrell continued to cut into Lindemuth’s lead with Tim Krape also closing the gap. Farrell worked the outside line and was able to get by Lindemuth on lap 16 as Lindemuth’s car started to fall off. Krape was able to get by Lindemuth late, but ran out of laps as Farrell was able to capture his second checkered flag of the season. Lindemuth’s third place finish helped him hold onto an 80 point lead over Farrell.   


Bruce Hartzfeld and Fields led the field of street stocks trackside for their 20-lap main event. Fields held the early lead through a number of early caution periods with Hartzfeld and Connor keeping close tabs on the leader. The top three pulled away from the field and ran that way through the halfway point with Shawn Lindemuth and Matt Krause rounding out the top five. Fields started to stretch out his lead late in the race, but saw it diminish as he had to slow for a car turning sideways.  A number of late race cautions kept Connor glued the rear deck lid of Fields, but it was Fields able to take claim his second straight win and third overall at the speedway. Hartzfeld and Fields won the heats. Connor holds a slight 12 point lead over Bob McMillen.


The Swanson Heavy Duty Truck Repair semi lates were next on the racing surface with Tim Fannin and Kevin Dickson leading the way in the 20-lap feature. After a complete restart, Nixon took the early lead with Dickson close behind. Nixon and Dickson continued to pull away from the rest of the field with Rick Lias, Neil Wilson, Jr., and Josh Henry trying to make up ground.  Nixon was able to stretch out his lead and encountered some lapped traffic late, but he wouldn’t be denied as he went on for his second straight win. And with the win, Nixon closed to within seven points of division leader Wilson. Nixon and Lias copped the heat race wins. 


The Aaron’s of DuBois front wheel drive four-cylinders closed the evening’s race card with Jerry Walls and Albert starting on the front row of the 12-lap main. Albert used the high line to his advantage, and took over the early lead with Walls and Fye keeping things close. Albert continued to ride the cushion with a number of other drivers following in his tire tracks. A late race caution brought the field back to Albert, but he was able to hold Fye and Walls at bay for the final laps as he went on to score his second straight win. With the win Albert was able to extend his points lead over Fye. Albert and Fye also won the heats.


Speedway Notes:  Racing was completed by 10:45 pm. Racing continues Saturday evening with a five-division program. Gates open at 4:30pm and racing at 7. For more information visit the track’s website at or call the track office at 653-8400.     




BWP Bats Steel Block Late Models: 1. Chris Farrell, Clearfield; 2. Tim Krape, Bellefonte; 3. Skip Lindemuth, Hazen; 4. Dan Smeal, Houtzdale; 5. Kenny Schaffer, DuBois; 6. Bruce Raybuck, Falls Creek; 7. Jeremy Ohl, Jersey Shore; 8. B.J. Hudson, Clearfield 9. Don Henry, Falls Creek; 10. Scott Alvetro, Reynoldsville; 11. Jeff Taylor, Corsica; 12. Dylan Fenton, Clearfield. DNS: Derek Rodkey.


Swanson Heavy Duty Truck Repair Semi Lates: 1. Adam Nixon, Grampian; 2. Rick Lias, Dayton; 3. Kevin Dickson, West Decatur; 4. Neil Wilson, Jr., Clearfield; 5. Roswell Babcock, Curwensville; 6. Josh Henry, Clearfield; 7. Phil Uplinger, Panic; 8. Jason Beichner, Shippenville; 9. Tim Fannin, Clearfield. DNS: Brandon Connor.


Street Stocks: 1. Fuzzy Fields, Brockway; 2. Bob Connor, DuBois; 3. Matt Krause, Brisbin; 4. Bob McMillen, St. Marys; 5. Luke Barnett, Mahaffey; 6. Josh Frantz, DuBois; 7. Jake Cunliffe, Knox; 8. Nate Brady, Clearfield; 9. Shawn Lindemuth, Brookville; 10. Joe Malobicky, Jr., St. Marys; 11. Bruce Hartzfeld, Brockport; 12. George Bailey, Clearfield; 13. David McGovern, Jr., Hyde. DNS: Alan Lamb. 


Sunny 106.5 FM Pure Stocks: 1. Doug Surra, Kersey; 2. Josh Fields, Brockport; 3. Mike Miller, Rockton; 4. Dustin Challingsworth, St. Marys; 5. Matt Howell, Clearfield; 6. Ben Krause, Houtzdale; 7. Jim Challingsworth, St. Marys; 8. Andrew Frey, St. Marys; 9. Eric Lucas, Clearfield; 10. Zach Gustafson, Weedville; 11. Tim Steis, St. Marys; 12. Jeff Kronenwetter, St. Marys. DNS: Steve Brugman.


Aaron’s of DuBois Front Wheel Drive Four-Cylinders: 1. Randy Albert, Morrisdale; 2. Jim Fye, Reynoldsville; 3. Jerry Walls, DuBois; 4. Anthony Campisano, Punxsutawney; 5. Tom Peters, Clearfield; 6. Aaron Luzier, Clearfield; 7. Austin Hockenberry, Morrisdale; 8. Clay Garing, Chicora; 9. Dylan King, Reynoldsville; 10. Zack Frantz, DuBois; 11. Jim Boyer, Penfield; 12. Jason Henry, DuBois; 13. Adam Bales, Falls Creek; 14. Brian Snyder, Clearfield; 15. Adam Gee, Coalport.