Skip to main content

Hummingbird Speedway

Exciting Saturday Night Dirt Track Racing Action!

Home  Schedule  Rules  News & Results  Point Standings  Photos  Links  2011 Archive  2012 Archive  2013 Archive  2014 Archive  2015 Archive  2016 Archive  Gone But Not Forgotten   
For Immediate Release
Saturday, May 27th, 2017
By Steven Curry

Reynoldsville- Hummingbird Speedway was back in action Saturday night with a very exciting five division racing program. The night would see all first-time winners on the 2017 season including: Paul Kot from Brockway in the BWP Bats Late Models, Tim Steis from St. Marys in the Sunny 106.5 FM Pure Stocks, Jon Lee from Mahaffey in the Swanson Heavy Duty Truck Repair Semi-Late Models, Brian Rhed from Brockport in the Street Stocks, and Eric Luzier from Clearfield in the Aaron's of DuBois Front-Wheel Drive Four-Cylinders.
Derek Rodkey and Chris Farrell made up the starting front row of the 25-lap BWP Bats Late Model feature. Farrell jumped out to the early lead on the initial green flag with Rodkey second, and Kot and Denny Fenton battling hard for the third position. Kot prevailed and took the third position from Fenton. Meanwhile, Farrell checked out on the whole field as he lapped a number of cars before a caution of debris would bunch the field back up. On the ensuing restart, Kot gave a hard challenge with Rodkey for the second spot and would take it just before the halfway mark. Farrell in the meantime checked out until he made contact with a lapped car, cutting down his right rear tire, and retiring him for the night. That gave the lead to Kot on the following restart with just a few laps remaining and he would hold on to pick up the win. Rodkey, Fenton, Jeff Taylor, and Dan Gill would round out the top 5. Fenton and Farrell won the heat races.
Mike Anderson and Dustin Challingsworth led the field of Sunny 106.5 FM Pure Stocks trackside for their 15-lap feature. Challingsworth took the lead on the opening flag as a hard-charging Tim Steis passed Anderson to take the second spot on the first lap. Steis then tracked down Challingsworth and battled with him until Steis finally completed the pass on lap 2 and started to pull away. A hard-charging Josh Fields would get past both Anderson and Challingsworth to move into the second position at the midway point. But Fields had nothing for Steis as he would go on to win the second caution-free pure stock race of 2017. Fields, Dustin Challingsworth, Anderson, and Jim Challingsworth rounded out the top 5. Steis won the lone heat race.
Steven Zimmerman and Brandon Evans led the field of Swanson Heavy Duty Truck Repair Semi-Late Models to the green flag for their 20-lap main. Zimmerman jumped out quickly to the lead but a quick caution would bunch the field back up with Evans in the second position. On the restart, Zimmerman had a hard-charge from Jon Lee and Lee would prevail as he took the top spot away. Lee and Zimmerman would remain 1st and 2nd for several laps until Nick Erskine took second away as the race neared the midway mark. A few laps later, Zimmerman would spin out of the third position retiring him for the night. On the final restart, with only four of the original ten cars still running, Lee would be able to hold off Kevin Clark, Doug Surra, and Josh Henry to pick up the feature win. Clark, Surra, Henry, and Zimmerman rounded out the top 5. Lee and Evans won the heat races.
Brian Rhed and Brandon Connor made up the starting front row of the 20-lap Street Stock feature. Rhed jumped out to the early lead and pulled away from the field. Meanwhile, Fuzzy Fields, who had to start at the back because of his feature win last week, charged up through the field and had caught the second place runner, Brandon Connor. Fields and Connor would battle for a few laps until Fields completed the pass and moved into second. Fields then set his sights on Rhed and started to track him down as the race passed the halfway mark. With two laps to go, Fields caught Rhed and they battled hard all the way to the end but it was Rhed that held on to pick up the caution-free Street Stock feature win. Fields, Connor, Rich Howell, and Bob McMillen rounded out the top 5. Fields won the lone heat race.
Jimmy Ogden and Eric Luzier led the Aaron's of DuBois Front-Wheel Drive Four-Cylinders trackside for their 12-lap feature. Luzier took the early lead on the initial start and pulled away from the rest of the field. Zack Frantz, who had to start last in the feature because of his win last week, charged his way up through the field and had passed Ogden for second as the race neared it's halfway point. A caution for a stopped car on the backstretch would bring Frantz right to the back bumper of Luzier for the restart. On the restart, Luzier got the early jump but Frantz and Ogden tracked him down and made it a three-man race to the checkers but at the line it was Luzier picking up the win. Frantz, Ogden, Mike Mayhew, and Jim Boyer rounded out the top 5. Ogden won the lone heat race.
Speedway Notes: 46 cars were on hand and racing was completed by 9:50pm. Racing will continue next Saturday evening with gates opening at 4:30pm and racing at 7. For more information call the track office at (814) 653-8400 or visit the tracks’ website at
1st) #36 Paul Kot, Brockway
2nd) #14R Derek Rodkey, Osceola Mills
3rd) #55 Denny Fenton, Clearfield
4th) #60 Jeff Taylor, Corsica
5th) #11G Dan Gill, Clearfield
6th) #64 Scott Alvetro, Reynoldsville
7th) #211T Rich Wicker, Mahaffey
8th) #88B Luke Barnett, Mahaffey
9th) #53 Chris Farrell, Clearfield   DNF
10th) #24M Jason Witherite, Luthersburg   DNF
11th) #78 Danny Kienitz   DNF
12th) #46 Tom Merryman   DNS
13th) #44 Dan Smeal   DNS
1st) #5L Jon Lee, Mahaffey
2nd) #11 Kevin Clark, Olanta
3rd) #3xAA Doug Surra, Kersey
4th) #92 Josh Henry, Clearfield
5th) #77 Steven Zimmerman, Brookville   DNF
6th) #5X Nick Erskine, Bells Landing   DNF
7th) #717 Doug Updyke, DuBois   DNF
8th) #28 Joe Leigey, Clearfield   DNF
9th) #1 B.J. Hudson, Clearfield   DNF
10th) #56R Brandon Evans, Clearfield   DNF
1st) #69R Brian Rhed, Brockport
2nd) #28 Fuzzy Fields, Brockway
3rd) #T3 Brandon Connor, DuBois
4th) #3 Rich Howell, Clearfield
5th) #50 Bob McMillen, St. Marys
6th) #37A Jim Bloom, Curwensville
7th) #2 Cregen Brady, Clearfield
8th) #17 Brad Curran, Austin   DNF
9th) #20 George Bailey, Clearfield   DNS
1st) #45 Tim Steis, St. Marys
2nd) #78 Josh Fields, Brockport
3rd) #46 Dustin Challingsworth, St. Marys
4th) #76 Mike Anderson, DuBois
5th) #44 Jim Challingsworth, St. Marys
6th) #30K Jeff Kronenwetter, St. Marys
1st) #6 Eric Luzier, Clearfield
2nd) #358 Zack Frantz, Reynoldsville
3rd) #21 Jimmy Ogden, Clearfield
4th) #3 Mike Mayhew, Clearfield
5th) #11 Jim Boyer, Penfield
6th) #80 Dustin Kemp, Clearfield   DNF
7th) #7 Daniel Clark, DuBois   DNF
8th) #17 Randy Albert, Morrisdale   DNF