Skip to main content

Hummingbird Speedway

Exciting Saturday Night Dirt Track Racing Action!

Home  Schedule  Rules  News & Results  Point Standings  Photos  Links  2011 Archive  2012 Archive  2013 Archive  2014 Archive  2015 Archive  2016 Archive  Gone But Not Forgotten   
2016 Schedule
Street Stock Special
Late Model Special
2016 Photos

Lindemuth, Craft, Fields, Beichner, Surra, and, Luzier Claim Opening Night Wins At Hummingbird Speedway.
For Immediate Release

Reynoldsville—A cool, crisp night welcomed fans to the season opener Saturday evening at Hummingbird Speedway. The track saw many familiar faces back in action with some new mixed in, and a new class of cars added to the mix. Feature winner on opening night included Skip Lindemuth of Hazen, Fuzzy Fields of Brockway, Doug Surra of Kersey, Bryce Craft of Frenchville, Aaron Luzier of Clearfield, and Jason Beichner of Shippenville.

The Sunny 106.5 FM micro sprints kicked off the feature action with Bob Garvey, Jr. and Scott Hawkins leading the way in the 15-lap main. Garvey got the early jump on the field with Sean McAndrew and Hawkins keeping things close. The red flag was displayed as Zach Lennox took a nasty flip in turn one. He was uninjured, but had to retire for the evening. Garvey kept control of the lead on the restart and, added to it with newcomer, Mason Peters moving into second. Garvey maintained his lead at the midway mark with Craft now running second. Garvey looked to have things in hand, but Craft closed the gap with the laps winding down. Craft saw the opening that he need on the final lap as he floored his machine in turn three and passed Garvey low to take the lead and the win. Garvey and Hawkins won the heats.


The BWP Bats steel block late models were next onto the racing surface for their 25-lap feature with Bruce Raybuck and Lindemuth taking the opening green flag. Lindemuth grabbed the early advantage with Chris Farrell and Raybuck battling side by side for second. Farrell continued to second place and kept heavy pressure on Lindemuth. Farrell made a move under Lindemuth for the lead, but hit an infield tire and was sent to the rear of the field. Lindemuth held the lead at the midway mark with Jamie Barber and Paul Kot trying to close the gap. Lindemuth was strong the entire distance, and held off the challenges of Kot and Farrell to claim his first ever late model win. Lindemuth and Farrell copped the heats.

The street stocks were next in the lineup with Shawn Lindemuth and Brian Rhed on the starting front row. Lindemuth held the early advantage with a number of cars battling close behind for second. Lindemuth held the lead until lap 7 when he looped his car in turn two. Fields took over the lead and maintained it through the halfway point. Bob McMillen continued to hound Fields and made the pass for the lead on lap 15. The pair would make contact on the front stretch a lap later, ending McMillen’s night. Fields regained the lead, and held off a hard charging Bob Connor for the win. Bruce Hartzfeld and Connor won the preliminaries.

The newly added Swanson Heavy Duty Truck Repair semi late model class got off to a rough start in their 20-lap main with Neil Wilson taking the early lead after a number of early caution flags. The lead swapped a number of times before Beichner was able to take it over for good at the midway mark. Beichner was never challenged from there as he took home the win. Beichner and Josh Henry won the heats.

The 15-lap pure stock main event was next on the racing surface with Jim Challingsworth and Surra making up the front row. Surra took the initial lead with Jim and Dustin Challingsworth battling side by side for second. Surra continued to stretch his lead with the Challingworth’s, Mike Miller and Matt Howell. A caution on lap 8 brought the field back to Surra, but in the end it was Surra holding off the challenges of Dustin Challingsworth to take the win. Surra and Jim Challingsworth took the heat wins.

Zach Frantz and Brian Snyder led the field of front wheel drive four-cylinders trackside for their 12-lap feature. Luzier worked his way to the outside line to take the lead on the initial lap. A lap 5 caution brought the field back to Luzier. Luzier held the lead at the halfway point with Jim Fye, James Frantz, Snyder and Bud Witherow completing the top five. Luzier continued to work the outside line with Fye working low. Luzier was too strong as he held off Fye for the win. Fye won the lone heat.

Speedway Notes: Racing will continue next Saturday evening with gates opening at 3:30pm and racing at 7. For more information call the track office at (814) 653-8400 or visit the tracks’ website at

BWP Bats Steel Block Late Models: 1. Skip Lindemuth, Hazen; 2. Paul Kot, Brockway; .3. Chris Farrell, Clearfield; 4. Dan Smeal, Houtzdale; 5. Bruce Raybuck, Falls Creek; 6. Dylan Fenton, Clearfield; 7. Jamie Barber, Grampian; 8. Scott Alvetro, Reynoldsville; 9. Don Henry, Falls Creek. DNS: B.J. Hudson & Steve Dickson.

Swanson Heavy Duty Truck Repair Semi Lates: Jason Beichner, Shippenville; 2. Brandon Connor, DuBois; 3. Neil Wilson, Jr., Clearfield; 4. Josh Henry; 5. Mike Blazer, Duncansville; 6. Deegan Watt, DuBois; 7. Adam Nixon, Grampian; 8. Nick Loffredo, Avis. DNS: Chad Desmett & Ethan Siple.

Street Stocks: 1. Fuzzy Fields, Brockway; 2. Bruce Hartzfeld, Brockport; 3. Brian Rhed, Brockport; 4. Matt Krause, Brisbin; 5. George Bailey, Clearfield; 6. Bob Connor, DuBois; 7. Bob McMillen, St. Marys; 8. Shawn Lindemuth, Brookville; 9. Jake Cunliffe; 10. Nate Brady, Clearfield. DNS: Joe Malobicky, Jr.

Pure Stocks: 1. Doug Surra, Kersey; 2. Dustin Challingsworth, St. Marys; 3. Jim Challingsworth, St. Marys; 4. Mike Miller, Rockton; 5. Matt Howell, Clearfield; 6. Ben Krause, Houtzdale; 7. Eric Lucas, Clearfield; 8. Andrew Frey, St. Marys; 9. Dusty Hippler, DuBois; 10. Richard Herman; 11. Mike Annis, St. Marys. DNS: Tim Steis, Kyle Lindemuth, & Dustin Gray.

Sunny 106.5 FM Micro Sprints: 1. Bryce Craft, Frenchville; 2. Bob Garvey, Jr., Grassflat; 3. Dave Hawkins, Lower Burrell; 4. Anthony Pasquerella, Leechburg; 5. Brandon Hawkins, Salina; 6. Damon Doutt, Cabot; 7. Scott Hawkins, Sarver; 8. Mason Peters, Shickshinny; 9. Johnny Walker, Sarver; 10. Sean McAndrew, Apollo; 11. Zach Lennox, Brockway; 12. Markus Miller, Harrisville. DNS: Jessie Lennox & Jason Callender.

Front Wheel Drive Four-Cylinders: 1. Aaron Luzier, Clearfield; 2. Jim Fye, Reynoldsville; 3. James Frantz, Portage; 4. Brian Snyder, Clearfield; 5. Jim Boyer, Penfield; 6. Brandon Frantz; 7. Bud Witherow, Luthersburg; 8. Zach Frantz, DuBois. DNS: Randy Albert.